You’re probably thinking: What are these crazy people talkin’ about on this site! What is all this stuff about “Following Me” and “Friends”? What does it all mean? What is the meaning of life? Ok...maybe not that last one, but for the rest, read on!
If you use Twitter or Facebook, you’ll probably be familiar with some of the terms we use on Bingo.com. However, there are some differences, so here’s what we mean, hopefully in a way that makes sense! If there are items you think we’ve missed and that may be helpful to include here, please send us an email to:
“Avatar” This is a fancy term which simply means the photo that you choose to represent yourself in your profile. Usually, this is just a picture of you but you could choose any photo you like (if it’s decent…:-)).
“Account” Here’s where you can change the information you have provided to us such as your password, email address, etc… Your username cannot be changed.
“My Profile” This section will allow you to do a number of things like updating your Avatar and telling your fellow players a little (or a lot) about yourself. The section will also show you what you’ve uploaded recently (photos, comments, etc…).
“Photos” Other than the obvious meaning of this term, the link called “Photos” in the navigation will take you to a page which shows all the photos you have uploaded in one great long list. You’ll notice there’s a sub-menu which shows up which also lists “Albums”, “Following”, and “Upload Photos”. “Albums” will show you all the albums you’ve uploaded. “Following” (in this context) will show you all the photos uploaded by people you’re following. “Upload Photos” will allow you to pick photos that are on your computer and upload them to bingo.com. Note that the photos cannot be bigger than 4mb in size or it won’t work.
“Albums” contain groups of photos that you have uploaded together using the “Add to Album” function. You do this by clicking on the photo in your “Photo Stream”, then clicking “Add to Album”. Note - if you haven’t created an album yet (or at least not the one you want to put this picture into), you are given the option to do so at this stage.
Relationships With Other People
“Following" These are people that you find interesting and choose to follow. This means that you will get their updates (stories, news, photos, etc…) showing up in your “Dashboard”. You can stop following someone by going to the “Social World” section, then to “Following”, then click on the “Stop Following” link beside the person’s name.
“Following Me”. These are people that find you interesting and choose to follow you. This means that they will get your updates (stories, news, photos, etc…) showing up in their “Dashboard”.
“Friends”. This is a term we use for people that you are following and are also following you.
“Social World”. Here you will find a collection of all the people who are connected to you: the people you are Following; those that are following you; and those that are your Friends (ie. you’re following them and they’re following you). Did you follow that? :-)
“Dashboard” This is the section where you can get all the “goods”. Whenever one of the people you Follow, updates their profile with photos, comments, etc...those updates will show up in your Dashboard.
**Remember to assume that everything you post on the site is public (that can save all sorts of red faces later)!